new album out now

bone almanac



Philip’s First solo album since 2004. 14 bare-bones acoustic songs recorded with Justin Pizzoferrato.
Available on all formats (digital, CD, vinyl) November 8, 2019.



“With Bone Almanac, Philip. B Price presents a fearless confrontation. Ever one to shun the glare, finding greater delights in the shadows I suspect, or in the harmonious swirl of Winterpills, the band he’s led for some fifteen years, Philip has created an album of striking intensity. Fourteen songs that voice a dire concern for the planet, a longing for action, a vow to find beauty and surmount despair. All of this, heightened by the recent birth of his son. 

”Art has a way of underscoring the oneness in things, bringing the invisible forth. Philip has done so with the precision and maturity of an artist who has spent a life observing, rendering his findings and questions in songs, poetry and images. 

“Here, he can be heard performing on the entirety of instruments, summoned to complement his pure impassioned voice and deft guitar work. Engineer Justin Pizzoferrato (Pixies, Sebadoh, Kim Gordon) has dutifully captured the haunting essence of Philip’s music, placing a premium on performance in the studio environment. Layered in just the right doses, each track is built upon the armature of Philip’s voice and guitar, the inherit presence and interplay of these warm colors. On this limestone foundation, Philip has built a sonic world. The effect is dynamic – from the whispered to the glorious. 

”The album opens with “Holding Onto Light”, a modal invocation that contemplates the ephemeral, as its shimmer of voices and guitars build to a stunning fury. Such questioning permeates Bone Almanac, as does hope. “C’mon World” is an exuberant petition to humankind with a splash of Philip’s self-effacing wit. The turbulent waltz of “Ropes” is a marriage of forces, both light and dark, with Philip arriving at the mantra, “The Ropes are on fire.” Visions of a more verdant future are expressed on the meditative “Smothered in Green.”

“Bone Almanac is bold in its vulnerability, urgent in its central plea. It’s an album that, like a fire in winter, will see you through the cold moonless nights, as you scry into its flickering light, eyeing the dance of shadows. It bears a hallmark that one can trace throughout Philip’s work, a gift for expressing a complexity of emotions with distinct melodic prowess. This is an album that operates on a deep level, to be experienced and felt in the heart and in the bones.”




“Downright glorious.” – The Washington Post

“His songs are mournful, slow-exploding and lyrically dazzling.” – Rolling Stone

“This is what music is and was meant to be.” – The Village Voice

“Deeply moving...heartrending.” – No Depression

Philip B. Price is best known as the lead singer and songwriter behind the New England-based melancholic folk/pop band Winterpills, but his resumé stretches back into the late 80s and draws on minimalist/jagged art-rock, bedroom lo-fi pop, power pop, 70’s singer-songwriter and Brit folk.

Price’s early years in music were spent partly in collaboration with electronic musician and college cohort Antony Widoff (AKA NoA) who worked for years with David Bowie, U2, David Torn and others.

Post-Bennington, with Widoff, he formed the upstate NY art-rock quartet Memorial Garage (1986-1989). After recording and self-releasing 2 albums (self-titled and Mootland) and a 22 song live album, the band split in 1989.

 A short-lived collaboration with drummer Jerry Marotta (Elvis Costello, Peter Gabriel, Stevie Nicks), bassist Michael Nunziata and keyboardist Harvey Jones (Ellis Paul, Sara Lee) yielded the release of the 4-song EP titled Weatherless

Price then retreated into his 4-track home studio where over the next 6 years he self-released 8 albums of diverse and often devastatingly emotional and raw pop-rock.

Now relocated to New Hampshire, in 1992, bassist and fan Max Germer (The Fawns, Gentle Hen) approached Price about forming a band based largely on this raw material, and The Maggies were born. The band endured several line-up changes, but between 1993 and 2002 released 8 albums and 2 EPs of harmonic, inspired power pop and became regional stalwarts, eventually signing to Jerry Harrison’s short-lived label (GarageBand Records) and releasing one album on it (Robot Stories).

Post-Maggies, Price released two more solo albums (13 Songs For Right Now in 2002, and Honey In The Chemicals in 2003, both on Brooklyn-based Listen Here! Records) and toured extensively behind them (with John Wesley Harding and others) until the Winterpills came together in late 2003 with Flora Reed, Dennis Crommett and Dave Hower. 

The band signed to Signature Sounds in 2004, have released 7 critically lauded albums and toured extensively. The band has made it onto MOJOs Top Ten lists and their songs have been featured on many TV shows, including Showtime’s Weeds, NBC’s Grey’s Anatomy.

In 2018, Philip released of a huge amount of his wide-ranging back-catalog solo material (12 albums total) in preparation for an all-new solo album in fall of 2019,Bone Almanac, his first solo project since 2004.

Price also has collaborated with author Jonathan Lethem, genre-bending Americana musician Walter Salas-Humara (of The Silos), pop purist Cliff Hillis, and has been in two bands with Fountains of Wayne frontman Chris Collingwood (including his current project Look Park, on Yep Roc). He has also co-produced and engineered projects for Frank Black (The Pixies), Spanish For Hitchhiking, Ethan Andrews and others.

His spare, riveting live shows, with his quavering tenor, spidery guitar work and dense wordplay, manage to make intimacy feel massively anthemic, and grinding rock seem like a close-whispered romantic inside joke. - Quynlyn Demitrus





A sampling of tracks from the decades, including solo, Winterpills, The Maggies and more.



Signature Sounds Recordings
32 Masonic St., Northampton, MA

US: Bill Eleven at Weird Sleepover •

EUROPE: Lynne Bertrand at Lit33 •


Flora Reed:

Peter Irvine •


Name *